Cool & Calm
Cool & Calm
49°F

Forecast

Satellite
Radar

Traffic
Cameras

BLM/Fire
Cameras

Cameras

Roads
Traveler
Info.

Local
Info.

Records

Trends

Precip.

Graphs

Sun
Moon

Earthquakes

County
Weather

Northwest
Weather

USA
World
Weather

Fire
Info.

Links

Elko
Repeater

About
Contact

Site
Map

Elko Nevada Weather
Your one stop source for Elko Nevada USA & Elko County Weather,
Forecasts, Weather Cameras, Road Conditions, Earthquakes,
Breaking News, Fire Information, Southwest & National Weather.

Haines Index

Haines Index, It is used to indicate the potential for wildfire growth by measuring the stability and dryness of the air over a fire.
It is calculated by combining the stability and moisture content of the lower atmosphere into a number that correlates well with large fire growth.
The stability term is determined by the temperature difference between two atmospheric layers; the moisture term is determined by the temperature and dew point difference.
This index has been shown to be correlated with large fire growth on initiating and existing fires where surface winds do not dominate fire behavior.
The Haines Index can range between 2 and 6. The drier and more unstable the lower atmosphere is, the higher the index.
2 : Very Low Potential -- (Moist Stable Lower Atmosphere)
3 : Very Low Potential
4 : Low Potential
5 : Moderate Potential
6 : High Potential ------ (Dry Unstable Lower Atmosphere)


Back To Fire Info.

NOAA Ridge Radar

Home     Mobile Site     SiteMap     About & Contact

Current Time    11:18 PM Pacific    12:18 AM Mountain    1:18 AM Central    2:18 AM Eastern    06:18 UTC

3 visitors currently viewing this site.

USA Weather Finder

Weather forecast provided by the National Weather Service.
Weather data from this station is accurate and up to date as possible, equipment failures,
internet issues, weather and/or other conditions may affect the accuracy of the data shown.
Use this weather data with caution.
Copyright © 2003 - 2023 nvwx.com
Unauthorized duplication or distribution is prohibited.
Privacy Policy