Cool & Calm
Cool & Calm
45°F

Forecast

Satellite
Radar

Traffic
Cameras

Cameras

Roads
Traveler
Local
Info.

Records

Trends

Precip.

Graphs

Sun
Moon

Earthquakes

County
Weather

Regional
Weather

USA
World
Weather

Fire
Info.

Links

Elko
Repeater

Guest
Book

About
Contact

Site
Map


Cool & Calm
Cool & Calm
45°F

Forecast

Satellite
Radar

Traffic
Cameras

Cameras

Roads
Traveler
Local
Info.

Records

Trends

Precip.

Graphs

Sun
Moon

Earthquakes

County
Weather

Regional
Weather

USA
World
Weather

Fire
Info.

Links

Elko
Repeater

Guest
Book

About
Contact

Site
Map

Elko Nevada Weather
Your one stop source for Elko Nevada USA & Elko County Weather,
Forecasts, Weather Cameras, Road Conditions, Earthquakes,
Breaking News, Fire Information, Northwest & National Weather.

Satellite & Radar
TIP: Start with USA Satellite or Radar and then click the image to zoom in.

Satellite Maps

USA       North Pacific      Pacific/West      West

NorthWest      Alaska       Canada       Tropical Pacific

NW Visible      West Visible      East      East Visible

Large Composite GOES E & W US Color 12 Hour Loop

Radar Maps

USA       Northwest Radar       Nevada Radar       Alaska       Hawaii

Elko Nevada Doppler Radar

USA Radar Loop       Pacific Northwest Radar Loop       Pacific Southwest Radar Radar

Other Maps

Wind Map       West Water Vapor       Jet Stream

Lightning Map       Forecast Maps       Warning Map

National Hurricane Center       GOES Image Viewer


Satellite & Radar Tips

IR (infrared) Satellite Images
Infrared imagery shows the amount of heat emitted by the different cloud features and the surface of the earth.
Infrared images show clouds at higher levels better because they are colder. The images shown are really
negatives of the images, because areas that are white are ones that are colder (emit less infrared light),
and areas that are dark are warmer. Most the of the Satellite images shown here are IR.

Radar Images
Radar intensity is a way to "see" through rain. A pulse of radio energy is beamed through a cloud and the amount
of echo returned will give the intensity of precipitation. The echo is a reflection of the energy and a computer
will generate a color code to indicate the amount of precipitation.
The DBZ on the Image is Decibels
When the radar echo reaches the precipitation, the larger the raindrops, or the more raindrops there are,
the greater the DBZ value and the heavier the precipitation in that storm.

Weather Home   About & Contact   Guest Book

Current Time    11:40 UTC    4:40 AM Pacific    5:40 AM Mountain    6:40 AM Central    7:40 AM Eastern

USA Weather Finder

Forecast provided by the National Weather Service.
This weather data is accurate and up to date as possible, equipment failures,
weather and/or other conditions may affect the data shown.
Use this weather data at your own risk.

Copyright © 2003 - 2021 nvwx.com
Unauthorized duplication or distribution is prohibited.

Privacy Policy

6 visitors currently viewing this site.