Cold & Calm
Cold & Calm
42°F

Forecast

Satellite
Radar

Traffic
Cameras

Cameras

Roads
Traveler
Local
Info.

Records

Trends

Precip.

Graphs

Sun
Moon

Earthquakes

County
Weather

Regional
Weather

USA
World
Weather

Fire
Info.

Links

Elko
Echolink

Guest
Book

About
Contact

Site
Map

Elko Nevada Weather
Your one stop source for Elko Nevada & Elko County Weather, Forecasts, Weather Cameras, Northwest,
USA & World Weather, Road Conditions, Traveler Information, Earthquakes, Fire Information & News.

Elko Nevada Facts & Information


Winter Safety Driving Tips
Before winter arrives, have your car tuned up, check the level of antifreeze, make sure the battery is good, and check your tire tread or put on snow tires.
Keep emergency gear in your car for everyday trips:
Cell phone
Flashlight
Jumper cables
Sand or kitty litter (for traction)
Ice scraper, snow brush, and small shovel
Blankets
Warning devices (e.g., flares, reflectors)
For long car trips, keep food, water, extra blankets, and required medication on hand.
Avoid driving in snow or ice storms. If you must travel in bad weather, drive slowly. Let someone know what route you're taking and when you plan to arrive so they can alert authorities if you don't get there.
If your car is parked outside, make sure the exhaust pipe and the area around it are free of snow before you start the car. Snow packed in or around the exhaust pipe can cause high levels of carbon monoxide in the car.
Don't sit in a parked car with the engine running unless a window is open. Do not let your car run while parked in a garage.
If your car stalls or gets stuck in snow, light two flares and place one at each end of the car, a safe distance away. Make sure snow has not blocked the exhaust pipe. Then stay in your vehicle and open a window slightly to let in fresh air. Wrap yourself in blankets and run your vehicle's heater for a few minutes every hour to keep warm.



Locals use terms like The Sagebrush State, The Silver State, and The Battle Born State as nicknames for Nevada.


The Reno Ice Pavilion is a 16,000-square-foot rink once dismantled and moved to Reno from Atlantic City, New Jersey.


Nevada has more mountain ranges than any other state, with its highest point at the 13,145 foot top of Boundary Peak near the west-central border.


Berlin-Ichthyosaur State Park is constructed around the fossilized remains of ancient, mysterious reptiles within a well-preserved turn-of-the-century Nevada mining camp.


Climate - Nevada is made up of mostly desert areas, where temperatures can reach up to 110 degrees Fahrenheit in short, hot summers and can reach as low as 20 degrees in long, cold winters. Nevada rarely has any precipitation through out the year, but rain lies along the lee side of the Sierra Nevada Range.


Misfits Flats off Highway 50 near Stagecoach takes its name from the John Huston film. Huston used the privately owned area to film a complicated wild horse round up with Clark Gable, Marilyn Monroe, Montgomery Clift and Eli Wallach.


In March 1931 Governor Fred Balzar signed into law the bill legalizing gambling in the state.



Weather Home   Contact

Current Time    18:34 UTC    10:34 AM Pacific    11:34 AM Mountain    12:34 PM Central    1:34 PM Eastern

USA Weather Finder

Forecast provided by the National Weather Service.
This weather data is accurate and up to date as possible, equipment failures,
weather and/or other conditions may affect the data shown.
Use this weather data at your own risk.

Copyright © 2003 - 2020 nvwx.com
Unauthorized duplication or distribution is prohibited.

Privacy Policy

6 visitors currently viewing this site.
Wallowa County Facts & Information

Enterprise Population - Enterprise population is 1,940 (2010).

More Wallowa County Facts & Information